Cookie Dough Madness and Recovery Soup

(First of all, there will be no pictures, perhaps for a while, because the camera battery is dead and the hubby has lost the recharger.)

Ok, so it’s not a great idea to bake cookies right before preparing supper, but that is what I did. It wouldn’t have been such a problem if the dough wasn’t the best, most soft, “doughlicious” dough ever! But it was, and I ate quite a bit of it. So now I feel that “ickyness” in my belly that comes with such behavior.

As I write this, I’m drinking mint green tea to aid digestion, while my “cure-all” soup is simmering on the stove. I’ll be having a fresh green salad on the side with nothing more than a little lemon juice for dressing. I think that should make for a nice balance to my earlier indulgence!

Here is the recipe for the soup–it’s one of my favorites. It makes your kitchen smell great too.

Simple Golden Broth – Serves 6
(From The Peaceful Palate by Jennifer Raymond; vegan cookbook)

1 onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup yellow split peas
½ tsp turmeric
4 cups water or vegetable stock (I use stock, and therefore, less added salt)
½ – 1 tsp salt

Place the onion, garlic, split peas, turmeric, and water or stock into a pot. Bring to simmer, then cover and cook until peas are tender, about 50 minutes.

Puree in a blender until smooth. You can strain it for a thinner broth, but I never do that. Add salt to taste.

Per serving: 53 calories; 3g protein, 10g carbohydrate 0g fat, 0g cholesterol. 

(I definitely eat more than 1 serving of this soup! Probably 2 or 3)

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Dinner, Food, Intuitive Eating, Recipes, Soup, Sweets, Vegan

Leave a Reply

